Synchronicities While Reading Annie Dawid’s Novel, York Ferry

Last week, on one of our final Indian Summer days, I biked to City Park and sat down to read Annie Dawid’s novel, York Ferry. I was on Chapter 6, and after reading the first sentence, I looked up at the October colors over the lake, and I couldn’t help thinking, “synchronicity,” a term coined by Carl Jung and defined as “the simultaneous occurrence of events that appear significantly related but have no discernible causal connection.” And I couldn’t help taking a photo of the first sentence juxtaposed with the setting right in front of me:

IMG_4365

And then a few days later, on the last day of our Indian Summer here in Denver, I happened to get to the sentence underlined in the photo below. I just reread the whole paragraph, though, and, sadly, I was all alone and fully clothed as I read:

IMG_4375

I am thoroughly enjoying the novel and will write more about it after I’m finished!

One more separate but related synchronicity: I’m also thoroughly enjoying the current PBS show on Masterpiece called Indian Summers, set in India during the time of Gandhi and British colonialism.

Rebecca Snow

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

